Printing Issues………

When I was trying to find the best place to get my main images printed I wanted to choose a printers that could give me several or so different options in paper to print on. My first port of call was the universities printing beuro, as I knew that they produce good quality prints at a fairly low cost. It was only after speaking to them that I decided not to have my images printed with them as the choice of paper was very limited, not to  mention that the time with which I would have the prints back was fairly long. So I decided to spend the best part of the evening researching places in and around Coventry to source out the best printers for me.

Here is my research –

Snappy Snaps – http://www.snappysnaps.co.uk/index.php

Coventry Photo Centre – http://coventryphotocentre.co.uk/

AMC Photographics – http://www.amc-photographics.com/index.html

One Vision Imaging – http://www.onevisionimaging.com/

After ringing all four of these printing companies and explaining that I was looking to have seven images printed on heavy fine art, ‘Giclee’ paper only one of them could help me. One Vision Imaging was the only printing company that stocked the paper that I was looking for and was willing to give me a 10% student discount along with an express turn around (meaning that the images were printed faster than the recommended 3 – 4 days).

Here is One Vision Imaging’s website description of the museum 310gsm paper that I had my images printed on –

“This very thick art grade paper has an ivory base and a textured surface, ideal for landscapes, wildlife and pictorial images”.

I am very happy with the final printed version of the images. I feel that by having the images printed onto this very thick paper, added another layer of meaning to the production of my seven final, ‘artefacts’.

Here is a photograph of the printed versions  –

1000

Leave a comment

Filed under 352MC -Professional Photographic Practice, 3rd Year

Leave a Reply

