Brick Lane gallery hunting And General Art Exploring !!

On the same day that I went to view Paul Grayham’s work in the Whitechapel gallery, I decided to go on the hunt for interesting unique art and photography work in and around Brick Lane with some of my fellow students. This was not the first time I had been to Brick Lane, as when I was about 16 I viewed my aunties degree show in one of the unused warehouses just off Brick Lane and loved it back then, so it did not come to be a surprise that I enjoyed being back, just having a gander around at all of the interesting projects and small shows open to the general public. I found that it’s not only the art scene that I was taking in, it’s also the many different diverse cultures that smothers the streets and connecting alleyways that truly grabbed my attention and inticised me to ask many questions about individuals backgrounds and my own, as everyone who surrounded me had this arty look and ora about them, and it’s this that made me question and contemplate my own background and the changing of an individual be it myself, a member of my family, friends, or even a complete stranger. I would like to take this basic idea further and use it as a backbone to an on going project over a long period of time.

Hugh Miller: The Glasshouse Mill Series – 

Although I do not have a clue what the gallery space was called in which I views Miller’s works, I know that it was on a road off of Brick Lane. Talking about he’s works Miller describes how he wanted to ‘push the possibilities of creating an illusional environment.’. I found it particularly interesting that a lot of he’s inspiration for these huge pieces of art work came from films and places he visited in person as he explains here,”I stole the cherry blossom from the film ‘Memoirs Of A Geisha’ and the waterfall references came from trips to Rydal Mount and Betwsy-Coed. I found it particularly interesting how Miller increasingly manipulated the canvases, almost loosing the references to the actual locations he had pre visualised. After reading the foreword about this series of work, one sentence in particular stood out to me clearly, “I wanted to address the romantic complacency for landscape painting by overwhelming the viewer with size and speed, preventing a safe consumption of the picturesque”, and it was this overwhelming size of the pieces that created an almost speeded up landscape narrative, running  through season to to season, and it is this concept of almost creating a large scale visual flip book that only the viewers eyes are used to flick across the work that truly grabbed my attention

About The Artist – 

Born in 1971, Miller then went on to graduate from Chelsea Collage of Art &Design in 1997. He has produced many paintings to commission for the Association of newspapers, barclays Bank, Swiss Bank, Liberal Democrats and Cross Business Communications. Major exhibitions include ‘Pursuit Of The Aesthetic’, Blackpool (2001), ‘Lune Valley Artworks’ (2004), ‘Trough Of Bowland’ exhibition, Harewood House (2009).  Miller currently lives and works between London and Yorkshire.

Below is a slideshow of both Huge Millers works and Buff Monster, the first 12 images are of Millers works and the rest are Monsters.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

StolenSpace Galley –

The second Gallery we visited was interestingly different to many other gallery spaces I have been too,  labelled as ‘Underground Art’, ‘Street Art’ and ‘Urban Art’. This gallery it’s self is called Stolen Space, situated just off of Brick Lane in The Old Truman Brewery. Some of the artists which have exhibited work at this gallery have a background in graffiti and street art, but not exclusively – all however, are influenced by society’s prevailing subculture where there are few rules and anything is possible. I feel that many of theses street artists often produce far more interestingly diverse works than that of traditional life painters, portrait painters and even installation artists, however i have compared them to subsections within the art medium that require totally different skills and are centred around completely different starting points. For my own personal impute I find this type of urban/street art far more visually captivating as I feel myself wanting to know more and more as to what the artist wanted to gain from there works, be it  around London’s city scape or on a canvas, and mainly what let them to produce some of todays most talked about artworks of the world, surrounding the big debate, graffiti OR art ?  Illegal OR  legal? In my opinion StolenSpace lets in the life – giving vitality of this environment that has long been overlooked by galleries and museums.

About the Artist – 

Buff Monster is the artist who’s works were on show in the gallery when I went up to London, he is a renowned Californian street artist, Celebrating 10 years as the king of pink, Buff Monster has created a brand new body of work expanding on and revisiting familiar themes that he has become synonymous with. The artist has become famous for his signature candy pink bubbles, drips, ice cream sundaes, breasts and Japanese inspired cutesy winged characters (also called Buff Monsters). As well as his highly collectable fine art paintings Buff Monster is known all over the world for his collectible toys and design projects.His art has been published in a variety of magazines, websites, newspapers and books, including Juxtapoz, Paper, Nylon, Cool Hunting, Angeleno, The Los Angeles Times, LA Weekly, The New York Times, and many more. He was recently featured in Banksy’s movie Exit Through the Gift Shop

Bellow is a quote from Buff Monster about his works.

“I’ve always painted squirts and boobs and drips, and I’ve always considered them landscape paintings; oozing landscapes. Of course, I use a very limited color palette: Buff Monster pink, along with a couple other shades of custom-mixed pink, and white, black and grays. For me, color is very important and I think that using a very limited palette serves to distill the essence of the expression. Formally, the paintings are rendered with great detail and are created in the superflat method of painting. I take great care to keep the paintings as flat as possible; making sure the surfaces is as flat and perfect as I think is appropriate. I use very fine sandpaper along the way to guarantee a smooth surface”.

Leave a comment

Filed under Working With Light

Leave a Reply

